Achieving My Goal: Triathlon Training Begins!

ignore the crazy hair!

good morning, everyone! i hope your week has started happily, easily, and free of any stress. i wish i could say the same about my week, but i’ll get through it. my biggest problem at this juncture in my life is learning how to properly organize and utilize my time. procrastinating is so much easier than actually delving into the work sitting in front of me. hopefully, i’ll get my act together and get done what i need to get done this week. physically, this week is off to a great start! i started triathlon training yesterday in hopes of participating in a triathlon on June 4th in Taylorsville, KY. the website is here. the race i’m looking into doing is the “super sprint,” which is the shortest of the races. i think if i stick to my plan that i created and actually put some effort into it, i’ll be able to do it and do it well.

i went back to the nutritionist last week for a checkup and to talk to her about my slowly-slipping motivation and she filled me with more motivation! my new goals are to lose 3 pounds by May 9th, get more movement on the weekends, and try to up the amount of fruits/vegetables i eat. i meet with her again on May 9th. she’s so sweet and supportive. i’m very lucky to have the opportunity to visit her.

this week has been a week of new culinary creations! i tried two new dishes this week and made an ol’ faithful. fortunately, i took pictures of all of them to show off because i was and am super proud of the cooking i’ve been doing. all of the recipes had at least one serving of vegetables per portion, possibly two, depending on which dish. the first recipe i tried was last Wednesday night

veggie lasagna preparation!

this is the beginning of the veggie lasagna i made! the sauce is that homemade annie’s sauce i’m absolutely obsessed with, barrilla noodles, and the veggies i used included mushrooms, zucchini, green peppers, spinach, and a bit of onion.

nom. cooked lasagna!

nom nom nom nom. the cheese filling i used included trader joe’s ricotta cheese mixed with 2 eggs and some mozzarella; the top cheese, just a little bit, is some sharp cheddar. the lasagna was delicious. DELICIOUS. along with the lasagna,

salaaaaaaaad

mmmmm salad. spinach & mixed baby greens topped with soy nuts, goat cheese, dried cranberries, and roasted red pepper vinaigrette (not pictured). it was effing delicious. boyfriend also went out and picked up some parmesan bread. we cut it up and toasted it

bread bread bread!

oh so delicious.

thursday night, we were in the mood for mexican, so i made some veggie quesadillas. my quesadilla had green peppers, onions, and pinto beans while boyfriends had green peppers, mushrooms, and pinto beans. both quesadillas featured a pepper jack cheddar cheese mix, topped with a big serving (fat free, i might add) of sour cream

quesadillaaaaa

this is my quesadilla. you can tell by the excessive amount of sour cream. it was fat free sour cream, though. i love sour cream. i wish i could express my love for sour cream without seeming like a weirdo. way in the back of the picture, you can see my new obsession: wholly salsa. it tastes very similar to Casa’s salsa, it’s natural, and it’s low calorie. i like to pair it with Garden of Eatin’ natural blue chips. unfortunately, that usually turns into half a tub of salsa and half a bag of baked tortilla chips. so good. so so so so so so so good. try it. seriously.

sunday, i wanted potato soup. so, i made my own potato soup. i used some vegetable broth, a couple cans of cream of mushroom soup, some spices, and i cut up potatoes, celery, and carrots. let it cook in the crockpot for 8 hours or so, added a couple cups of soy milk and some light cheddar cheese, mixed it up and BAM

it was awesome if i do say so myself. we also toasted some fresh french bread loaf and that is more sour cream you see in my potato soup. whatever. don’t judge.

this week i also started my triathlon training. yesterday, i was supposed to swim 400yds (8 laps), but instead i went back to sleep. i got up and biked 5.25 miles as per my training schedule. i’m really getting the hang of biking and my muscles are adapting pretty quickly to the change in motion. today, i got up at 7, swam my 8 laps, went to the gym immediately after, biked 3.4 miles (in 12:49, i might add) and ran 1.3 miles in 16:25. i’m cutting all kinds of time off of my exercise! tomorrow, i’m up for 10 laps of swimming and running a mile. super pumped! i’m going to try to cut more time off of my running. i will get faster, dammit! i will!

that’s about it. i’m super excited about my future training and i’m even more excited about summertime so i am free to cook all i want, go to farmer’s markets for fresh vegetables, and spend time working out the way i want instead of rushing it in my day. although it doesn’t feel much like summer today (it’s super gross in Richmond, KY), i know it’s coming. have a good tuesday and stay healthy, y’all.

Published by

Kara

trying to get by in this wonderfully difficult world

One thought on “Achieving My Goal: Triathlon Training Begins!”

  1. Where do you get these wonderful recipes? I am so glad you went back to the nutritionist. I think the weekends seem to be holding you back…Let me know if I can help anyway. Even though you are into running I would be glad to met and walk anytime. Still want the bike? We can make that happen this week!!! ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

