Evaluating May Goals: What I Accomplished and What I Can Improve

duck face. obviously not today.

happy saturday, homies. it’s blazing outside, at least to me it is, and i have no desire to step back out into the summer heat. i should be standing outside directly in the sun, preparing for Bonnaroo, but i think when the days actually come, i won’t be thinking so much about the heat because of the kick ass musicians i’m going to see! i leave Wednesday afternoon and i could not be more pumped. we’re caravanning down with some of my bestie bests and i have awesome other friends who i definitely plan on meeting up with throughout the festival. hooray!

this post is dedicated to looking at the list of goals i had for myself at the beginning of May, seeing what i did accomplish and what i can work harder on in the coming months.

 

  • Lose 8-10 pounds in the month of May: i am not sure about this goal. i haven’t weighed myself yet and i’ve made the decision to hold off until we get back from Bonnaroo.
  • Exercise at least 4-5 times a week, including running, biking, swimming, and ellipticalling: while i did not accomplish this at the beginning of May, i have picked my exercise back up in the past couple of weeks, mostly for Bonnaroo and mostly because i have the free time now. i’ll give this half a strike out.
  • Begin a strength training regimen with the free weights or purchase a couple of free weights for my home. this goal includes getting over my fear of the meatheads. hell to the fucking YES i accomplished this. i have been incorporating free weights into almost all of my days of Cardio. i also have my own set of weights. thanks, Rhi!
  • Eat out twice a week (at most): herp derp. while i’ve definitely gotten better at this, i still have some work to do in the eating out department. it gets better every week, though.
  • Try one new recipe a week:  this is another goal i have accomplished. hip hip hooray, bitches.
  • Make most of my meals Vegan. this has been easier than i’ve thought, and while i’ve slipped a few times this past week, i’ve been doing a really good job of making a conscious effort in the preparation of my meals.
  • Drink at least 8 glasses of water a day: the summer heat really helps this one.
  • Pick out a race in the next two months and register for it: Buffalo Trace 5k in July! also, Iron Horse Half in October.
  • Start serious training for the Olympic Triathlon in September: ehhhhhh. i’ve pushed my Triathlon back to next year and i plan on swimming this summer, but serious training for a Triathlon won’t start until later this year.
  • Finish my C25k program and begin Bridge25k: while i have not done this, i have upped my pace. progress is progress.
  • SAVE. MONEY.  broke as a joke, y’all. but, i did manage to save enough money to have enough for Bonnaroo and supplies for Bonnaroo. i get paid Thursday!
i have accomplished a lot this month and a lot of these accomplishments were born out of small goals, like making sure i drink enough water, or just making it to the gym for a small work out when i knew i couldn’t get the full workout in. i need to improve the amount of times i eat out in a week and with that, i will save money. that is the main goal of June, but instead of worrying about it, i’m going to take it one day at a time. BUT! i did start working out with weights, which was one of my biggest fears, so if that is all i accomplished work-out wise in May, so be it. i am so proud of myself for taking that plunge and because of it, i get stronger every day. here are the goals for June:
  • SURVIVE BONNAROO.
  • lose 4-7 pounds by June 31st
  • only weigh myself twice this month– once after Bonnaroo; once at the end of the month.
  • finish C25k and begin bridge to 10k in preparation for the 5k in July.
  • swim laps in the outdoor pool at least twice a week
  • be kinder to myself and my mistakes
  • 8 glasses of water a day
  • accept my new age of 24 when the day comes (June 19th!)
  • read at least 10 books (i’ve already got 2.5 down!)
  • continue to keep parking farther away from the doors at grocery stores/the gym/etc.
  • walk to work (i know it’s hot) at least once a week.
  • finally, keep a food journal and write down why i crave a food, what triggered the food craving, and find an alternative to that craving that is both satisfying and healthy. healthy habits are formed in these small choices!
that’s all i’ve got for y’all right now. i hope June is starting off right and treating you well! stay healthy, y’all!
Published by

Kara

trying to get by in this wonderfully difficult world

2 thoughts on “Evaluating May Goals: What I Accomplished and What I Can Improve”

  1. Way to go on accomplishing some of your goals in May. Looks like you’ve got a lot of great new goals for June. I like how you keep your goals realistic and doable. I want to know how you do with the last one. I keep saying I need to keep a food journal, and I do okay at first, but then I get lazy and stop writing. Or I forget (when trying to write out my emotions, moods, how I feel before and after I eat, etc.). So I’d love to hear how to you keep yourself accountable and motivated to keep journaling because that’s something I want to do but can’t seem to be consistent with. Best wishes for a great June & have a blast at Bonnaroo!!

Leave a Reply

