Running Two Miles: Restoring Confidence

i feel powerful

i know i already wrote an update today, but sometimes, i just need to write another one to express either joy or frustration. fortunately, this is a post of joy, a post of discovering something new about myself: i have taken my feet and legs for granted for many years. they deserve so much more respect, dignity, and love than i have given them. i just need to say thank you to my legs and feet– they carried me for two miles as i was trying to restore my confidence, my faith, in my ability to run distances. before tonight, the longest i had run in months was about a mile, or maybe even less than that. the last time i ran, i ran about seven minutes and got a side stitch so bad i thought i was going to throw up. that failure of having to stop in the middle of the run halted my exercise. i have been afraid to run again, afraid of failing, and realizing that i cannot do what i feel i am capable of doing. but tonight, feeling the wind on my face and the pavement under my feet, made me understand that my body will respond to whatever i put it through. if i want it to keep running, it will. if i want it to move faster, it will. my body is the slave of my mind and as long as i can overcome my mind telling me to stop, telling me that i am weak, i can do anything. i owe a lot to my legs and feet, who seemed to have a mind of their own on the streets of Richmond, KY tonight. at times, as i was climbing inclines in the neighborhood, i felt like i was going to puke, but i didn’t. i felt like my lungs were going to crawl out of my throat, but they didn’t. i felt like my heart would explode through my chest, but it didn’t. i survived and it has made me stronger. i ran the first two miles i have run in months and it felt so damn good.

this half marathon is possible. it is achievable. it is conquerable. stay healthy, y’all.

Published by

Kara

trying to get by in this wonderfully difficult world

Leave a Reply

