September 5: The Day the Heavy Hipster Ran 5 Miles

5 miles

hello, friends!what you see above is me being proud of how sweaty i was! i envy sweat. i am sorry i have been so absent. i know i wrote a vague, vague entry about a week ago saying i was under construction and it’s true. i’ve spent the past week trying to get myself into running again because i have missed it and because i do not want to backslide and gain the 20 pounds i’ve lost back. i am tired of gaining weight; from now on, i just want to lose weight. it’s been an interesting week, but it’s been a week of rewards and happiness. it has been a week of reminders that encourage and push me to succeed with each strike of my foot against the pavement and each bite of food i put in my mouth. as Eminem says “success is my only motherfucking option, failure’s not” and right now, i am refusing to fail.

last tuesday, i got back onto the pavement and cranked out 1.6 miles. i was so proud of myself that i registered for a 5k this month to keep myself motivated. in fact, i think i am going to keep registering for races every single month because those suckers are not cheap and i don’t like spending money unless it benefits me. this way, i don’t waste money and i keep myself running. my friend Katie YM told me about a website called “Runner’s World” where you can create running plans. my ultimate goal is the Derby Half Marathon in April so i created a plan for that race. it gradually builds me up to that point and i think if i stick with it, i will own that race.

tuesday night i went to Hot Yoga. i really have fallen in love with Yoga as a way to keep my mind healthy as well as my body. Yoga centers me and calms me down; it is also a way for me to spend some time with myself without having to worry about other people. it feels good to take some time to do what i want to do instead of what other people want to do. i wish i could do it more often.

thursday, i got up and ran 2.7 miles just to prove to myself i could do it. saturday morning, i met with some friends and ran; saturday, i ran 3.2 miles in 40 minutes and then did 45 minutes of zumba afterward. saturday was a big deal for me because it was proof i can run a 5k in 40 minutes. it took Katie YM & Leslie getting behind me and essentially yelling at me to go faster so i could accomplish my goal, but without them, i wouldn’t have done it. zumba was fun and electrifying like always; i had a blast making faces in the mirror at Trenia and Tricia. zumba is one of those awesome things that i hate while i am doing it, but afterward, i can see the fun, if that makes any sense at all.

then, today, boyfriend and i went to the mall and DUN DUN DUN GUESS WHO FITS IN GAP & FOSSIL CLOTHES NOW?!

GAP GAP GAP GAP

oh yeah. fueled by the success of my shopping excursion, i came home, put on my running gear, and set out in the rain. i hit 2.5 miles and kept going; i hit 3.5 miles and kept going; i hit 4.5 miles and kept going. i finally stopped when i, Kara Lairson, hit FIVE MILES. FIVE WHOLE MILES. i couldn’t even run 60 seconds in January and now i’m running 5 miles.

PROOF (ignore the fact that the time is wrong)

so damn proud of myself. i never thought i could do something like this and now i have. happiness. stay healthy, y’all.

 

Published by

Kara

trying to get by in this wonderfully difficult world

5 thoughts on “September 5: The Day the Heavy Hipster Ran 5 Miles”

  1. I remember doing the ugly cry the first time I fit into clothes at Gap. And I did the really ugly cry in the dressing room at Limited when I bought pants that were a 16. That feeling never gets old. I’m proud of you.

    And if you’re looking for a half this spring, I’ve done Run the Bluegrass and it is awesome. It’ll be a lot closer than Louisville, but a few weeks earlier. It’s also a much smaller race. Just something to think about…

    Great job, girl!

  2. I definitely teared up. It was such a great feeling and such a good motivator to come home and get my exercise in. With the weather in Kentucky today, it almost didn’t happen. How much earlier is the Run the Bluegrass? I’m finishing my MA this spring and I probably won’t be able to do any races before March 24 because of my Comprehensive Exams. Gag. But, I will look into it.

    Thank you for your kind words and encouragement. It means more than you know.

  3. Krissie, I just looked up the Run for the Bluegrass and I definitely think that would be a better option for me! Not only is it in the pretty city of Lexington, but it’s perfect timing!

  4. Kara I am so proud of you! You are breaking the mold of our over weight family! Keep it up…you looked fantastic this past weekend, not only did we notice your weight loss but you are toning up everywhere!

Leave a Reply

