So, I Put My Faith in Something Unknown: My Running Coach and Looking Forward

marchdecember
Left: March Right: December

good evening, folks. instead of being out partying like many people i know, i am in my bed preparing for what promises to be an incredibly hectic day at work, but i am so excited about my future that i had to blog about it before i went to bed. the photo above, obviously, contains two pictures: one before my half marathon in March and the other a couple of weeks ago in late November/early December. i believe that putting these images next to each other will help me gauge where i have gained weight and, unfortunately, where i may have lost my muscles. i may be overly happy, because while i see a difference, it isn’t as huge as i had once thought. i have this super negative perception of my body and how much space i take up in the world. but, my poor thighs. they were once powerful tree trunks of, well, power, and i have lost most of the muscles that once thrived there. regardless, i now see where i need to put work into my body and that brings me to my next item of interest…

I HAVE A RUN COACH and she is lovely, amazing, and fabulous in every way imaginable. while i have been capable of running myself and following a pretty decent schedule, having someone who knows how to build endurance, someone who is there to answer specific questions about running, and someone who has been on her own journey and knows how to inspire others. in the fall of 2011, she started a running group in Lexington dubbed The LexRunLadies that has grown to include a huge number of men and women; i am honestly so proud to know her and her husband. initially, we began speaking through DailyMile, the website i use to keep track of my running progress and mileage throughout the week, and she has become one of the biggest motivators in my quest to become a healthy runner. she is also a trained running coach and after seeing me bounce back and forth between motivated and motivation-less, she approached me about helping me with a training schedule and getting me trained, here i am and i am ready to follow through and stay dedicated to my goals. you should check her running coach website out here: Committed Coaching. i will be, thus, preparing for the Flying Pig Half Marathon while doing various 5ks (and hopefully obstacle courses!) along the way. but seriously, i’m pretty obsessed with her.

i finally see a light at the end of the tunnel. i have a plan. i have a strategy. i have people behind me. stay healthy, y’all.

Published by

Kara

trying to get by in this wonderfully difficult world

Leave a Reply

