Resurrection

resurrection: the act of causing something that had ended or been forgotten or lost to exist again, to be used again, etc.

IMG_1796.JPG

Hello.

I didn’t think I  would actively touch this blog again. In fact, after reading through older entries, looking at my older pictures in my media library, and really examining the content, I didn’t know if I WANTED to assume the identity of the Heavy Hipster again. She seemed so separate from me, so different from who I am right now as a 29 year old. I started this blog in January of 2011. I was 24 years old. I was a vegetarian/vegan. I had just started running. I was in a completely different relationship. I was in graduate school. I had a dog. I had a huge kitchen in a basement apartment in Richmond, KY. I had a dog. My main goal, at that time, regardless of what I told myself, was getting skinny. I wanted to be skinny. I wanted to be hot. No matter what I read in my older entries, I know my intentions– I wanted to be nice to look at. Then, that life fell apart. The relationship ended. I moved into another apartment in Richmond. I ate fried chicken in Louisiana, ending my 3 years as a vegetarian/vegan. My dog went to live with another family. I graduated. From there, life sort of became a spiral. I stopped running. For lack of a better phrase, I stopped giving a fuck. I eventually moved to South Korea and, as many people know, my life has been shifting and changing as I start to figure out who I *really* am and not who I thought I was. I never thought I would find interest in taking up the banner of The Heavy Hipster once more.

But I have.

While there are a lot of things about my previous blog entries I don’t agree with or identify with anymore, there are still certain aspects of The Heavy Hipster that I still am or want to continue to embody. For example, I was determined and I was so honest about my flaws and my fuck-ups. I wasn’t afraid of strong language or expressing myself, whether it be negative or positive. I wanted to be inspirational. I wanted to change. I tried new foods, new activities. I ran races and pushed myself. I still am or still want to be those things. A few years does not change the core characteristics of me.

So, here’s where I am now. I am currently 29 years old– I just turned 29, actually. I live in Daegu, South Korea and I’ve been here for almost 2 years. I live downtown in a nice apartment with my fantastic partner, Robert. I am an English teacher at a middle school academy and I love my job.  I am an omnivore, but I am trying to eat more ethically. I’m running again and am in the first stages of training for the Ulsan Human Rights Half in November. I’m mostly living on a high fat/protein with low carb diet, but I still love beer as much as I did 5 years ago. I also have an extreme Americano addiction. I want to be healthy, mentally and physically. I’ve realized exercise is just as connected to my mental health as it is my physical health and I am trying to really create good habits when it comes to consistent exercise. I own kettlebells. I own a bike named Maverick. I’m also a lazy asshole when I want to be. I haven’t had a cigarette in over two weeks. I also have a way of getting Reese’s cups and hoarding them in my freezer. I currently have 7 kinds of cheese in  my refrigerator. I may have a problem.

In order to fall in line with the Heavy Hipster Habits of old, I’m going to attempt to tell you about the fuckshit hike I took this weekend and how it’s forced me to think about the bigger picture, regardless of how much I bitched and groaned while it was happening. It is a dear friend’s birthday this weekend, and he wanted to go hiking, so he picked the Gayasan National Park, which is about 45 minutes away from Daegu by car. He and his lovely girlfriend, who is also one of my dear friends, retrieved me from my apartment around 7am. Let me preface this with some cold, hard facts: the night before, I drank 4 or 5 beers and slept maybe 4 hours. I did not eat any breakfast. I had researched the hike, it said it was about 2 hours and 30 minutes and was a low difficulty hike. As a result, I HUGELY underestimated the difficulty of this course and the effort I would have to put in. The website lied. It was one of the most difficult hikes I’ve ever undertaken. It was fucking HARD. And, it took 6.5 hours as we went up one side and came down the other, so we ended up going around 7 miles (11k). We were the red line.

gayasan national park - map

 

I had to really push myself yesterday. There were times I wanted to give up and let the bugs take me. There were times I wanted to throw myself off of the mountain in order to avoid the walk back down the other side. But, as it always happens, once  I got to the top of the mountain, I was overwhelmed by the feat I had accomplished and just how damn beautiful it was. We picked one of the hottest days to hike this– Korea released a heat advisory and we had no idea. Although I am sunburnt, my calves are sore as fuck, and I still feel very much destroyed, I am sort of in awe of myself and my continuous endurance. I am about 90% sure I couldn’t have done that hike last year. I’m about 100% sure I couldn’t have done it two years ago. I have changed so fucking much it’s kind of unbelievable sometimes.

.13729196_10101854506536313_5349845066899276111_n

It was hot. It was hard. But, I did it. And I would do it again. I also had some bad ass company to help me along the way when shit got too difficult.

13781780_10154660332983352_4993991508096388569_n

These two are the titties for real.

Before we went up the mountain, though, we went to Haeinsa Temple, which is one of the coolest places I’ve been in Korea thus far. It houses the Tripitaka Koreana, which is considered a treasure in Korea.

13718820_10101856205611353_2530113455353489296_n

So, there you have it. The first real installment of the newly-resurrected Heavy Hipster. I appreciate any of you all still reading who have been with me for the past 5 years. What would you like to see more of? Or hear more about? Feel free to leave a comment or message me directly!

Stay Healthy, y’all.

Published by

Kara

trying to get by in this wonderfully difficult world

Leave a Reply

